Jordan’s constitution guarantees the independence of the judiciary and clearly states that judges are "subject to no authority but that of the law". The legal system is based on two basic sources: Islamic law (Shari’a) and civil law. It administers justice in cases of civil, criminal or administrative disputes between people, or between people and state.

  • Courts are divided into three categories:
  • Regular courts (courts of first instance, magistrate courts, courts of appeal, and the court of cassation/high court of Justice).
  • Religious courts (Shari’a courts and Council of Religious Communities).
  • Special courts (courts that deal with cases outside the jurisdiction of regular courts, such as the police court, military councils, the customs court, or the state security court).